Show Em Whatcha Got

I’m not a fan of  Kingdom Come (Jay-Z’s first post-retirement album, now one of many). But I DO like one of the songs on it, “Show Me What You Got”. I now know why: it samples heavily from “Show Em Whatcha Got” by Public Enemy (off of It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back, one of, if not the best, of PE’s records). I have to admit though, by re-pitching the sax sample and adding a full live band, J definitely jacks up the original beat’s energy. Check it out…in typical “Big Pimpin'” fashion, J makes a completely over the top music video to go along with the track. He also apologizes for lying about “fading to black”: “What you want me to do? I’m sorry…I’m back.” I wouldn’t mind as much, but he came out of retirement with Kingdom Come after going out on The Black Album! That’s not cool. Anyway, check it out.

“Show Em Whatcha Got” by Public Enemy

“Show Me What You Got” by Jay-Z

Download:
“Show Em Whatcha Got”
by Public Enemy
“Show Me What You Got” by Jay-Z

This entry was posted in Hip Hop Samples, Samples and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

